Sir Richard Leese and Lyn Fletcher recognised at RNCM’S Congregation of Awards

Date: 13/12/2018
Author: Royal Northern College of Music
Company: Royal Northern College of Music

Manchester City Council Leader and Deputy Mayor, Sir Richard Leese (pictured right), and violinist Lyn Fletcher, Leader of the Hallé Orchestra, were amongst the Royal Northern College of Music’s 2018 Honorands.

Presented at the College’s Congregation of Awards on Tuesday 11 December, Sir Richard received Honorary Membership (HonRNCM) while Lyn was presented with a Fellowship (FRNCM). 

A formidable politician, Sir Richard Leese was elected to Manchester City Council in 1984, becoming Leader in 1996 and Deputy Mayor for Business and Economy in 2017. He oversaw the 10-year programme of regeneration of Manchester City Centre following the 1996 IRA bomb and was subsequently awarded a CBE in 2001 and a knighthood in 2006. He was also heavily involved in the successful bid to host the 2002 Commonwealth Games, helping to drive the wide-scale regeneration of east Manchester – the positive impact of which continues today. A major influencer, Sir Richard is Vice Chair of the Greater Manchester Combined Authority, and Chair of the North West Regional Leaders’ Board, the Core Cities Cabinet and the LGA City Regions Board.

Violinist Lyn Fletcher has enjoyed a successful career for over 30 years. She is Leader of Manchester’s Hallé Orchestra and has performed as a soloist with orchestras throughout the UK. Lyn is also a tutor at the RNCM and coaches young musicians within the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain.

Sir Richard and Lyn were two of six to receive awards on Tuesday. Honorary Memberships also went to Dr Richard Mantle OBE, General Director of Opera North, and Cathy Graham, Director of Music at the British Council, while Murray Greig, Principal Trumpet with the Orchestra of Opera North, and Philippe Dinkle, Head of Haute École de Musique de Genève, received Fellowships.

For over 40 years, the RNCM has awarded Honorary Memberships and Fellowships to world-renowned musicians, conductors, composers, educators, and advocates, including Placido Domingo, Sir John Dankworth, Dame Joan Sutherland, Dame Janet Baker, Sir Mark Elder, András Schiff, Hans Werner Henze and Sir Bernard Lovell.